Pics from the border

Publié le par Gaelle, Aisyah, Socheata... what else ?


The monastery and the temple nowadays. 50 m on my right, you have a small glen, where landmines are burried. On the other side of the glen is Burma...

Class room, in the wat of the refugee camp


Candy distribution


In the morning chill, 9am. I'm freezing. The proof being my socks with my sandals. And almost not ashamed of it ^^ Everything is wet, making the chill harder to stand, and the fire struggles to survive


Phra Sanet and I, one hour later. The fog disappeared. The white building aand the ones next to it are the monastery. The ones on the crest just behind are the Burmese camp. The trees on the left side, level with the burmese camp, hide the Thai camp.


The future school...


At the top of the hill, the Shan Army camp. 3 armies within 2km...


First : the Thai camp. then : the Burmese camp. Between both, two fences and one meter of No Man's Land. During the night, the burmese soldiers are changed every 30 min. They then have to cry out "My name is X. I come from the Y village. I am ready to die for my country. I will kill anyone who will cross the border" Sometimes, they can be heard from as far as the village. And it is a good way to put in the mind of the soldiers that they indeed will sacrifice one day for the national cause...


The Thai captain and I, with the burmese camp in the back


These soldiers look "human", so much different from the Burmese ones... In the evening, you can see them playing volleyball or football ...



  No tension in the atmosphere, situation is normal for them and even talk sometimes to the soldiers on the other side of the border. But not so much....


Behind the barricades, eyes lost on the burmese side


At the monastery, the novices' dorm and living building

Publié dans Myanmar

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article