Revelling in the village

Publié le par Gaelle, Aisyah, Socheata... what else ?

          On the Saturday evening and Sunday morning, it was "ceremony time" in Ban Mao, next to Chiang Tung. The Saturday was more about traditional songs and dances, the Sunday about Buddhist chanting and a speech in Thai, that I quit after a while, because I was not able to understand a thing. And thus I found myself with Stanley, guides, drivers and staff, around a table.


The son of the driver in blue. He gave me his chopsticks and showed to me "try this one, here, it's really good". I looked at it. Yeah... looks weird. Well... it's not going to kill me, is it ? And it doesn't actually taste bad. And then Stanley told me it was pig lungs. Ah ? Ah, cool... And that one, what was it ? Pig intestine... Okay... Okay, it's too late anyway ^^
The procession in the village streets, until the Chedi we came to inaugurate


The driver is hidden in the middle of his balloons. Pikachu power...


The chedi is inside the building and the Thais filling the two buses had participated in the funding


Saturday evening or Sunday morning meal


Traditionnal thai dancers


Musicians of the village, hidden far from the stage. You'd better go wandering on your own if you want to find them


Dozens of small stalls. Food, sugar cane, drinks, alcohol, bamboo rice...


Outdoors kitchen


A little Thai (definitely really cute) who was travelling with his grand mother


Dancer

         It's interesting, it's like a fair. You have gambling stalls. Big pieces of cardboard with numbers in squares. You put a bill on one number, take a ball in the basket and read the number written on it. If it's the same number than you chose... good for you. But I never saw one... Even novices play at it, spending their small savings.
          Another gambling game : you make a circle with cardboard, in which you make small holes with numbers. You ask people to choose a number and then you put a rat in the middle of the circle. The first time, he climbed up the cardboard and jumped on one of the teenagers organizing it. The second time, the lamps went off just as the rat went into one of the hole. No one saw the number ^^
          You also have this game with piled up cans. One monk, Phulawit and I, we shared the 3 balls, we tried and threw them. 4 times. Never got one ^^ And then a Burmese guy arrived, payed, took the 3 balls, threw one and "badabang". Ok... Let's go away with our pride before it's too late... ^^
          Some had bought fireworks too and I was running like a kid to see them, Stanley sometimes dragging feet behind me. I just wanted to experiment taking pictures of it, but I always arrived too late. Stan told me I was childish but the next day, he was the one running after the chicken in the street ^^

Publié dans Myanmar

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article